On my way - Reisverslag uit Amsterdam, Nederland van Kim Dijkman - WaarBenJij.nu On my way - Reisverslag uit Amsterdam, Nederland van Kim Dijkman - WaarBenJij.nu

On my way

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kim

08 Mei 2017 | Nederland, Amsterdam

Sitting at the laptop with my hair drying
Very surreal that today is actually 'today'...
There is still so much I want to do and sort and and and, and the feeling fo running out of time is building momentum, but we'll be ok :)

Saying goodbye is very strange, so much harder and complex than when you are young. I miss those carefree times...

Maybe I just worry too much, or maybe I'm just not good at letting go, I don't know.
What I do know is that the love, friendship and support shown over the last few days has blown me away

From a surprise farewell lunch to help getting to the airport (bloody heavy bags and all!) to support and warm wise words from my mom, bit by bit a brick in the new path I am building

Its very difficult to keep the tears away, its been a long road to get to this point, almost a year from voicing a wish to stepping onto the plane, and an impressive rollercoaster inbetween.

Its funny how often something presents itself just the way you need it, and on the plane I was desperate for an empty seat next to me, just to be able to stretch and relax.
It didn't work out like that, my row companions were a young Somali woman with little English and an elderly American woman, and although I initially just didn't want to engage, somehow the three of us ended up helping each other with the little things, and really enjoying each other's company. And in those moments thoughts shot through me that this is what its about, helping each other to get to our destinations.

It was an amazing feeling, a humbling awareness, and a comforting feeling that I'm not completely lost, I am just sidetracked, and I will find my way back....

  • 16 Mei 2017 - 08:45

    Pascale:

    Well done Kim. It's taken a very long time, a very big journey and a whole heap of courage that you had to dig deeply for, to get here. May the road ahead on this new journey unfold with magic for you. Best of luck and loads of love.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kim

45 going on 25 travelling to find myself

Actief sinds 09 April 2017
Verslag gelezen: 125
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6783

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Mei 2017 - 26 Juli 2017

And so change begins

Landen bezocht: